New Massachusetts Law: Earned Sick Time for Employees

New Massachusetts Law: Earned Sick Time for EmployeesAll employees in the state of Massachusetts, including full-time, part-time, temporary, and seasonal employees, will be entitled to earn and use sick time leave from work beginning July 1, 2015.

The new law states that for every 30 hours an employee works, they will earn one hour of sick time. Employees can start earning sick time on the date of hire or on July 1, 2015, whichever is later. Earned sick time can be used 90 days after the date of hire.

As an employee working at a company with 11 or more employees, you can earn and use up to 40 hours of paid sick time in a year. At companies with less than 11 employees, employees can accrue up to 40 hours of unpaid sick time a year.

Employers who have an existing sick time policy that is equal to or more generous than the new law’s policy are exempt, given that employees can use the same amount of time, for the same reasons, and with the same job-protections under the new law.

The law states that “an employee can use earned sick time if required to miss work in order

  1. to care for a physical or mental illness, injury, or medical condition affecting the employee or the employees’ child, spouse, parent, or parent of a spouse;
  2. to attend routine medical appointments of the employee or the employee’s child, spouse, parent, or parent of a spouse; or
  3. to address the effects of domestic violence on the employee or the employee’s dependent child.”

For more information on the new earned sick time law, contact the Fair Labor Division at 617-727-3465 or www.mass.gov/ago/earnedsicktime, or contact McGrath Insurance Group at 800-342-3859 or www.mcgrathinsurance.com.

*This article is written for informational purposes only and should not be construed as providing legal advice.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply